Netherlands managed to scrape a victory against Mexico but it only happened after the referee allowed the team of Louis van Gaal on scoring a penalty kick during the last few seconds of the match after Arjen Robben appeared to have been brought down inside the penalty box but it was later confirmed to be a dive.
A few days later after the match was over, Robben announced to the public that he indeed had dived.
Robben said: “It’s a shame because yesterday in an interview I was very honest. Maybe honesty is sometimes punished. I always prefer to be honest and I said there was one foul in the first half where I went to the ground when the opponent took his leg away at the last moment. That was silly from me but it didn’t influence the game. It had nothing to do with the game and the penalty was a clear penalty. I apologize for the action in the first-half but that’s football and it had nothing to do with the game. We had two clear penalties, one was given and that’s it. We shouldn’t think about it anymore.”
Even though the Dutchman later revealed that he had indeed dived, FIFA announced that no bans or sanctions will be made towards Arjen Robben and his late actions which ultimately gave the victory for Netherlands as they advanced through while Mexico was eliminated.
Klass- Jan Huntelaar blasted the set-piece into the back of the net as he secured the triumph for his country.
Arjen Robben has played a pivotal role in the squad of Netherlands through the group stages of the World Cup with consistent performances that has immensely helped his team in all of the matches that have been played.